Starting the Summer Off Right!

Standard

I realized the other day that I hadn’t written consistently in a while. I think it’s because I’ve had so much going on that I felt like I didn’t have time to write quality posts. But that’s a dumb reason to not write. I need to remember that this blog is for me. I write here to reflect and figure things out for myself, and if someone else reads it and gets something out of it, awesome! So I’m starting the summer off with some blogging. On with it then:

What was my biggest plus this school year?

Without question: Utilizing Fawn Nguyen’s visualpatterns.org. We did one pattern everyday, using the included handout. Sometimes I planned ahead of time which pattern we would do, and sometimes it was randomly chosen. I liked both ways. Choosing ahead of time allowed me to focus on mostly linear ones at first, then quadratics and exponentials once we were ready. Choosing random ones reminded the kids that it is ok if we don’t get an equation every time; it is the process that matters. Don’t just make a table! Draw a picture of the next step, how do you see it growing? Try to draw the 27th step, what structure do you notice? I even submitted one of my very own. 🙂

Image

 

What did I do poorly this year? 

I think my main area for improvement is in student discussions. In Algebra and Physics, I know that student run discussions are possible and I believe they would be very beneficial. So I just need to figure out how to make them happen. My fist step will be to read 5 Practices for Orchestrating Productive Task Based Discussions in Science. I’m sure I’ll be blogging about that one once I get into it. First, I want to finish Gamification of Learning and Instruction which I’ve already started.

What are your summertime books gonna be? 

Leave a Reply

